Sephora Haul

Way back in October my best friend and her fiancé flew to New York for a week of romance, sight-seeing and, more importantly, shopping. I’m very fortunate to have understanding friends as before she could even open her mouth to tell me about the wonderful hotel she had booked or the trips they had planned I asked (screamed) the immortal words ‘PLEASE CAN YOU GO TO SEPHORA FOR ME?’

fullsizerender

As any beauty obsessive will know, Sephora is THE place to get all those delicious new products and whilst European Sephoras are good (great when you live in the Sephora wasteland which is the UK) they just don’t carry everything I want. For the likes of Kate Somerville or Drunk Elephant only a trip across the pond would do.

I had been given well over four months notice of her trip, four months in which to research what products I wanted needed. I asked on Instagram, watched all the YouTube videos and I tweeted Lady H. Finally, on the morning she was due to fly I sent over my final list.

Like the amazing friend she is, she went to three separate stores to get everything on my list. I couldn’t love her anymore.

These are the glorious products I am now the proud owner of:

Skincare

Kate Somerville

These were the first items I placed on my list and the easiest to decide on. I’d used both the Goat Milk Moisturizing Cream and the Deep Tissue Repair before, I love these products. They are out of this world pricey but, they work, whenever I wear them someone always comments on my skin.

The Goat Milk Moisturizing Cream is a nourishing moisturiser which gives me great hydration throughout the day and sits perfectly under make-up. Its quite light and runny in texture but soon sinks in. The moisture lasts all day and its the only moisturiser I know which helps to give my skin ‘glow’.

fullsizerender1

Deep Tissue Repair is quite frankly a miracle in a jar, its a cream which acts like the most potent serum. I love to use this in the winter when my skin needs a little boost. The instructions say to use a.m. and p.m. but I use it in the p.m. only, and after acids, when I’m paying that much for serum I want the FULL benefit. Not only does it smell beautiful it actually makes a big difference to my skin.

The only new Kate Somerville item was the D-Scar Diminishing Serum, one of my biggest skin issues is the acne scarring on my chin and this serum sounds like it may be the answer to my prayers. Its a serum which is applied via a rollerball and claims to encourage the skin to regenerate and repair. Unfortunately, I’m yet to use this but as soon as I have done I’ll give a full report back.

fullsizerender3

When it came to other skincare I was torn between what to get, I knew I definitely wanted to try some Drunk Elephant but which to get? I also had my eye on some Tata Harper but as I can buy it here quite easily I thought that would be a wasted opportunity. So, after much searching I finally came across the ‘Sephora Favorites Scouted by Sephora’ box.

This little box proved the trickiest to find but my friend finally tracked it down and thank god she did! I’ve not managed to get through everything yet but what I have used, I’ve absolutely loved.

fullsizerender6

This  dream of a skincare box contained minis of:

Cane+Austin Miracle Pads – I’ve not tried these yet but I’m excited about cracking them open. I have A LOT of time for any glycolic acid!

Drunk Elephant C-Firma Day Serum (woop!) – this little vitamin C serum packs a punch and after using it for a couple of weeks I can certainly see a difference in my skin. Its clearer, brighter and has a glow which its so blooming difficult to get hold of in winter. This is one item which is definitely going on my re-purchase list.

Estee Edit Pink Peony Overnight Water Pack – I’d heard a lot about the Estee Edit but hadn’t seen anything about this particular item. Its basically an overnight mask (think Bio-essence Aqua Droplet Sleeping Beauty Mask) which is very light and watery and sinks straight into the skin. Its smells lovely and gave my de-hydrated New Year skin the big drink it needed. I’m yet to decide if I’ll re-purchase the bigger size but its a lovely cream and the perfect size for travel.

Herbivore Botanicals Coco Rose Coconut Oil Lip Conditioner – I’m yet to try this, but I’ll report back once I have.

Jurlique Rosewater Balancing Mist – this is a beautiful spritz which I’ve used after acids, before my serum. You know how much I love a spritz and this is another one I’m more than happy to add to my stash.

Lancer The Method: Polish – this is a very fine manual exfoliator and, before acids, it would have been right up my street. I’m a bit scared about using anything with a grit now but it has some great reviews online so once I’ve plucked up the courage to use it I’ll let you know. I’d love to know if anyone else has tried it?

Lashfood Phyto Medic Eyelash Enhancer – I’ve not used a lash enhancer since the big Revitalash launch a few years ago. I don’t know why but I find using them to be a chore, despite cleansing my face each evening, the thought of applying something separate to my lashes makes me want to give it all up! I shall persevere though and get those luscious lashes.

Tata Harper Purifying Mask – I’m excited to try this mask, I love Tata Harper as a brand and I think my skin will love this.

I’m excited to finish trying all the products and know I’ve already found some which will be with me for a few years. I also got a trial Sunday Riley Martian which I’m excited about trying.

fullsizerender4

Make-Up

Although my absolute first love is skincare there were a few make-up items which were on my list. These were:

fullsizerender2

Tarte, Lights, Camera, Flashes mascara – I first heard about this mascara through Fleur De Force, a YouTuber who really knows her make-up. It can occasionally be bought through QVC in the UK but I’ve always missed my chance so it went straight on my USA wish-list. I applied this as soon as I got it out of the packaging and it was better than I could have imagined! My lashes were instantly doubled in length and beautifully separated. There was some smudging after an hour but there was no flaking and it remained on my lashes all day. This is one product I will be buying in bulk when I get the chance.

fullsizerender5

Anastasia Beverly Hills Master Palette by Mario – I’d heard so many great things about Anastasia Beverly Hills that I knew they had to be on my list. I knew she was famous for her brows so I got the Beauty Express for Brow and Eyes (I’m yet to use this..) and I’d heard a lot about the shadows so this palette was my weapon of choice. I love an eyeshadow palette and these colours were very much up my street, all neutral tones, some matte, some with a shimmer. The colours are beautiful, and highly pigmented, but I’ve found that they tend to crumble when touched by anything but a light brush. I also found that I needed to apply a few layers of the darker colour to get a good depth of colour. They are lovely shadows which look beautiful but I won’t be re-purchasing them yet.

fullsizerender7

That’s it, my US Sephora round-up! If you ever go to America please let me know as I now have a constant list of what I want need.

I’d love to hear what would be on your wish list!

Hope you have a great Monday night

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

