Current Skincare Routine

I absolutely love skincare and can spend hours looking through my stash deciding what to use. I mix it up most days depending on what my skin needs, for example, is it particularly congested, dry or just tired looking, my end skin goal is to get the ‘glow’! My routine always follows the same pattern, cleanse, tone, serum/oil/treatment, moisturise but I like to mix up products each day.

This post is a list of my current favourites and most of them are products which I have repurchased.

You can read all about my skin history in my first blog post.

A.M.

Morning is my favourite time to cleanse, I love washing away all the products I put on overnight to reveal (hopefully!) clear, glowing skin. I find it really wakes me up and sets me up for the day.

Emma Hardie Moringa Cleansing Balm – this cleanser will come up time and time again on the blog. I absolutely love it and I’m yet to find anything which does the same job as well as this can. It smells beautiful, gets rid of all make-up and is really gentle on my skin and eyes (not that I go mad rubbing it directly onto my eyeballs). The only con for me is the packaging which breaks as soon as I look at it and isn’t great for travel, but I’d carry it in a jar made from spikes if it meant I could keep using it!

Pixi Glow Mist – I love a spritz in the morning, I find it really refreshing. This is relatively new for me (this year but 2nd bottle) and I love it, it makes my skin feel smoother and gives great hydration. It’s also great spritzed on skin which has been in the sun a little too long.

La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo (+) – this cream (along with Redermic R, mentioned below) has turned my skin around. I use this on my chin and find its great at preventing and fighting my hormonal breakouts. I always make sure I have plenty with me and take it whenever I travel, if I do run out I definitely notice my skin gets worse. The Effacular Duo and Redermic R both feature in my skin care every day.

Vichy Aqualia Thermal Dynamic Hydration Serum or Emma Hardie Brilliance Facial Oil – occasionally I will get some dry patches on my cheeks, if I notice this then I will add a couple of drops of either of these products to my moisturiser. They sit well under my make-up and gives me a hydration boost. These tend to get added in in the winter months when my skin is being battered by central heating. (Also – can anyone else remember the CBBC show Aquaila?!)

Indeed Labs Hydraluron Moisture Jelly – this moisturiser has a lovely gel texture and packs a huge hydration punch without being sticky. It sinks into my skin quickly and make-up applies really well after it (I don’t tend to wear primers). This is my fourth bottle and I will keep buying it again and again. This is one of the many products I picked up after reading Caroline Hirons blog.

P.M.

I enjoy an evening cleanse, especially if I’ve been wearing a load of make-up, there’s nothing quite like rubbing a cleansing balm all over your face and turning everything into a mascara strewn mess!

img_6406

Emma Hardie Moringa Cleansing Balm – see above for my total love and devotion to this cleanser!

I don’t tend to double cleanse as when I’ve done so before my skin has always felt very dry. I feel that I get everything off my face with a single cleanse, however, if I’m wearing particularly heavy make-up then I may double cleanse using an oil, such as The Body Shop Camomile Silky Cleansing Extract.

Nip+Fab Glycolic Fix Night Pads Extreme –  I love acid toners and I firmly believe these have rescued my skin from years of neglect. When I first heard about acid toning I had visions of raw, red flaky skin and not being able to leave the house (Samantha in Sex and the City style) but I soon learnt about these gentle acids for everyday use, we’re not talking chemical peels here! I use some form of acid every night and change these up depending on what I have in. I also regularly use Pixi Glow Tonic, Zelens PHA+ Bio-Peel Resurfacing Facial Pads and First Aid Beauty Facial Radiance Pads. If you’re not using acids, start!

Caudalie Beauty Elixir – some say spritz’s are a princess product but I love them, both morning and evening. I always spray once I’ve used an acid and then apply the next step. I’ve only recently learnt that most products tend to apply better on a damp skin. There are some really great reasonably priced spritz’s out there so if you can afford to, I’d definitely suggest adding one to your routine. As with acid toners I regularly mix up my sprays, the ones I love most at the moment are La Roche-Posay Serozinc (great for blemishes), Omorovicza Queen of Hungary Mist and Caudalie Grape Water.

La Roche-Posay Redermic R – this is the sister cream to the Effaclar Duo mentioned  above and contains retinol. Its great at treating any blemishes I may have and keeps my chin clear. Both of these creams would be my desert island beauty products!

Emma Hardie Brilliance Facial Oil – I tend to use a facial oil every night. I love all oils and this Emma Hardie one sinks in really well and I always wake up with glowing skin. I used to be scared of using oils as I had a very oily t-zone, however, since using oils it has actually gotten better. As well as using this oil I also regularly use Aurelia Probiotic Skincare Cell Repair Night Oil, Sunday Riley Artemis and The Body Shop Vitamin E Overnight Serum-in-Oil.

Treatments

Around twice a week, in the evening, I will cleanse and then apply a treatment. Generally I will apply either the Alpha H Liquid Gold or Sunday Riley Luna.

Alpha H Liquid Gold is one of my favourite products and certainly lives up to the hype. It is a stronger acid and so I won’t use anything else over or under it. When I use it I am guaranteed glowing skin in the morning, I will always use it the night before a big day.

Sunday Riley Luna is a recent purchase and I’ve used it for a couple of months, this is a strong retinol, so again,I won’t use anything else under or over it. I’d heard so much about this oil and whilst it is good I’ve seen better results with the Alpha H. I will keep on using it but its not on my repurchase list so far.

That’s about it! I will very occasionally use a mask but I will do a separate post on them as they are quite specific and only occur monthly (if that!).

I’d love to hear about your routine, I love finding new products.

Hope you’re having a great weekend,

 

Leave a Reply

